Election Night events open to the public

Election Night events open to the public

Don't go to the Lane County Fairgrounds on Election Night: the traditional event there was canceled this year due to Lane County's budget woes.

Willamalane Parks and Recreation District stepped up to the plate and plans an Election Night event at the Willamalane Adult Activity Center starting at 7 p.m.

Republicans plan a watch party at the Valley River Inn.

And a handful of independent candidates announced plans to hold a separate event - and let freedom sing with some karaoke.

KVAL News will be at the Willamalane event and bring you updates throughout the night on KVAL 13 TV News, including national coverage at 10 p.m. with CBS News and a local and state election wrap up at 11 p.m. on KVAL 13 TV News.

As of Monday, those candidates and causes with reserved tables at the Willamalane event included:

  • Peter DeFazio
  • Lee and Elizabeth Terry Beyer
  • Jerry Rust
  • Sid Leiken
  • Pat Riggs-Henson
  • Sara Byers
  • Oregon League of Conservation Voters
  • Basic Rights Oregon-Eugene (2 Tables)
  • John Kitzhaber - Democratic Party of Oregon
  • Measure 74
  • Measure 76 for water, parks and wildlife
  • SEIU 503 (2 Tables)
  • Judy Terry "DPLC"
  • Nancy Nathanson, Val Hoyle & Chris Edwards
  • Floyd Prozanski

The following candidates expected to attend but did not reserve a table:

  • Marilyn Kittelman
  • Michael Spasaro
  • Phil Barnhart
  • Mark Callahan
  • Bill Young
  • Dwight Coon
  • Paul Holvey

Republican watch party

Republicans are hosting a watch party in the Umpqua and Rogue rooms at the Valley River Inn starting at 6 p.m.

Hors d'oevres, popcorn and a no-host bar will be available.

Some of the candidates from minor parties have a plane of their own.

"A few of us minor party candidates are mixing it up a bit by hosting an election Karaoke party," they said in a press release. "Win or lose, we'll be celebrating and belting out a few tunes."

The gathering at the O Bar starts at 7:30 p.m., with singing to start at 9.

Kevin Prociw, Scott Reynolds and Mark Callahan all expected to attend.