Former Beavers: Darwin Barney wins Gold Glove

Former Beavers: Darwin Barney wins Gold Glove
Tampa Bay Rays' Evan Longoria's 2010 Gold Glove Award waits to be packed as bat boys Chris Marker, left, and Justin Murray pack Carlos Pena's locker in the team's clubhouse, Thursday, Oct. 4, 2012, in St. Petersburg, Fla. The Rays season ended Wednesday night with a 4-1 win over the Baltimore Orioles. (AP Photo/Chris O'Meara)

CORVALLIS, Ore. – Darwin Barney became the second former Oregon State player to win a Rawlings Gold Glove Award when it was announced Tuesday night that he was the recipient for the National League at second base.


Barney, who manned second base for the Chicago Cubs, joins Jacoby Ellsbury as former Beavers honored with the award, which is given each season to the best defensive player at his position as voted upon by Major League managers and coaches. Ellsbury won it while patrolling center field for the Boston Red Sox in 2011.


Barney had an outstanding defensive season for the Cubs, finishing with a .997 fielding percentage in 155 games at second base. He committed just two errors in 731 total chances.


A native of Portland, he tied the MLB record for consecutive games in a single season without an error by a second baseman at 141. Barney was a mere three outs away from setting the record before committing a throwing error in a Sept. 28 game against Arizona.


Nevertheless, he set the National League record for consecutive errorless games by a second baseman (over multiple seasons), surpassing the great Ryne Sandberg – and one of Barney’s former managers in the Minor Leagues – who had gone 123 straight between the 1989 and 1990 seasons.


Barney’s first error of the season was April 17 against Miami, 1,154 1/3 innings prior to his throwing error against the Diamondbacks.


He was tops amongst Gold Glove Award finalists – regardless of position - with 28 runs saved through the 2012 season.


"It goes without saying he's Gold Glove material," Chicago manager Dale Sveum told before the award was announced. "I've been in the game 30 years, and I've never seen anyone play second base like [Barney] has. I was very fortunate to be around who I consider the best I'd ever seen at that position in Jimmy Gantner in Milwaukee. He was another guy who was under the radar because of his offense.


"I think Barney is better than that," Sveum said. "He puts everything into the package, going for popups down the right-field line, double plays, the range -- he has so many different things in his toolbox. It's not just a guy catching the ball, routine balls. He's been spectacular all season."


For fans who followed Barney during his three-year tenure at Oregon State – from 2005-07 – should certainly not be surprised about the honor. He was a two-time All-Pac-10 first team selection and in 2005, his freshman campaign, was named the league’s defensive player of the year while manning the shortstop position.


Barney is still in Oregon State’s top 10 in at bats (first, 765), hits (first, 238), runs (second, 152), doubles (fifth, 40), triples (seventh, 8), runs batted in (sixth, 136), walks (10th, 99) and total bases (seventh, 311).

Associated Press story

J.J. Hardy thought he'd hit a home run, only to be robbed when Mike Trout made one of the most sensational grabs of the season.

On Tuesday night, Hardy caught a break.

The Baltimore shortstop won a Gold Glove, putting him among a group of nine players honored for the first time for their fielding excellence.

"It means a lot to me," Hardy said. "It's definitely an award I always hoped to get and never really expected to get. I'm surprised and honored at the same time."

Pittsburgh center fielder Andrew McCutchen, San Diego third baseman Chase Headley and Oakland right fielder Josh Reddick also were first-time selections.

"I'm just happy I can pull it out for them and get the A's name even more out there," Reddick said. "It's a huge honor, I'm always taking pride in both sides of my game and trying to be a complete player. You never know what one play, whether the first or the ninth inning, is going to win a ballgame. That's what my mother and father taught me."

The Orioles were the only team with three winners. Baltimore center fielder Adam Jones and catcher Matt Wieters were second-time choices, joining Hardy for the awards chosen by major league managers and coaches and presented by Rawlings.

Trout, the Angels rookie who spent the year climbing walls to take away potential homers, was not picked. Among his best catches came against Hardy at Camden Yards in June.

The San Francisco Giants, fresh off winning a World Series in which they excelled with their gloves, did not have a Gold Glover.

These were the first major awards presented during the offseason, and the MVPs, Cy Youngs and others will come in mid-November. Gold Gloves always seem to raise a ruckus, with many claiming the prizes — actual gloves colored gold — don't define the most deserving fielders.

Hardy led the AL in fielding percentage, making only six errors in 158 games. Others relying on more advanced metrics and insist Seattle's Brendan Ryan was the best shortstop — then again, even though awards are strictly for fielding, players who don't produce at the plate often get bypassed, and Ryan hit a weak .194. Hardy hit 22 home runs.

"I've always hoped but I never expected it," Hardy said. "It's definitely an award I've seen a lot of shortstops get that are really flashy and kind of catch the eye of a lot of people. I don't look at myself that way. I kind of look at myself as just trying to be consistent and steady. I never felt like people noticed."

Wieters, meanwhile, was chosen despite leading AL catchers with 10 errors. He was recognized for the many things he does well — he threw out 39 percent of would-be basestealers and rarely let pitches get past him.

Strong-armed St. Louis catcher Yadier Molina won for the fifth straight year and Yankees first baseman Mark Teixeira added his fifth award. Texas third baseman Adrian Beltre, Philadelphia shortstop Jimmy Rollins and Miami pitcher Mark Buehrle became four-time winners.

Buehrle won three times with the Chicago White Sox before joining the Marlins last winter.

"With a whole new group of managers voting for you, it wasn't like it was handed to you," Buehrle said. "The Gold Glove gets to be, 'He won it last year, give it to him again.' This one means a lot, because switching leagues, it was different managers voting on it. I had to do my job to earn it."

The other first-time winners in the National League were Washington first baseman Adam LaRoche, Chicago Cubs second baseman Darwin Barne and Atlanta right fielder Jason Heyward.

"I'm extremely thrilled," Barney said. "It's something you came into the season working toward, but it's not something that I thought the results would be there as quickly as they were. I'm extremely happy about it. There's a lot of good competition out there, obviously, and I'm really surprised that ended up happening for me. So it's an exciting night for me."

In the AL, pitchers Jake Peavy of the White Sox and Jeremy Hellickson shared the honor as first-time winners. This was only the third time since the Gold Gloves were first presented in 1957 that there was a tie — there were four NL outfielders in 2007 and four AL outfielders in 1985.

Also winning this year: Yankees second baseman Robinson Cano, Kansas City left fielder Alex Gordon and Colorado left fielder Carlos Gonzalez.

Several players were rewarded for their wins.

Beltre received a $100,000 bonus and Hardy got $75,000, Gordon, LaRoche, Molina, Peavy and Rollins each added $50,000; Gonzalez, Jones and McCutchen $25,000 apiece.

In addition, Gordon's salaries for 2014 and 2015 increase by $250,000 a year to $10.25 million and $12.75 million. His 2016 player option also rises by $250,000 to $12.75 million.