Sherwood beats Marist for second time in 2012, wins 5A crown

Sherwood beats Marist for second time in 2012, wins 5A crown

HILLSBORO, Ore. (AP) — Keegan Lawrence ran for 132 yards and three consecutive touchdowns and Sherwood defeated Marist 46-20 for the OSAA Class 5A state championship on Saturday.

Cristian Morris ran for 145 yards and two more touchdowns for the top-ranked Bowman (13-0), also won the state title in 2010 when they defeated Marist 26-23 in overtime. Sherwood fell in last season's title game to Mountain View, 14-13.

Andrew Park rushed for 73 yards and two touchdowns for third-ranked Marist (11-2) which also lost to Sherwood 38-20 back on Sept. 7. Spartans quarterback Kamerun Smith threw for 128 yards and a score, bringing his total to 35 touchdown passes this season.

Sherwood's Wing-T offense racked up 428 rushing yards in the game, compared to just 90 yards on the ground for Marist.

Morris opened with a 48-yard touchdown run, then added a 1-yard scoring run to make it 14-0. He finishes the season with 25 rushing TDs.

Marist narrowed it on Park's 1-yard drive to make it 14-6.

But Sherwood piled on, starting with Mickey Schaefer's 6-yard TD run, followed by three straight rushing touchdowns from Lawrence. His scoring runs came from 27, 7 and 61 yards out to put the Bowman up 43-6.

Smith hit Kaelen Byrum with a 1-yard touchdown pass for Marist to make it 43-14 for Marist. After a Sherwood field goal, Park's 3-yard scoring run proved to be the final margin in the rain-soaked game at Hillsboro Stadium.

In the earlier championship games on Saturday, Camus Valley defeated St. Paul 24-8 for its second-straight OSAA Class 1A title. Oakland downed Portland Christian 50-27 in the Class 2A championship game for the Oakers' first state title since 1964.

Dayton beat Cascade Christian 34-28 for the Class 3A title, and Baker routed North Bend 52-22 for its second Class 4A state championship in three years.